Coachella Roundup

Updated – April 24

Setlist:

Impatience
Let’s See It
Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt
Chick Lit
It’s a Hit
Lethal Enforcer
After Hours
Cash Cow
This Scene is Dead
Inaction
Dinosaurs
Tonight
The Great Escape

It was a brilliant show from the guys that got the a lot of the crowd singing and dancing in the early afternoon. I had an awesome time watching them and I think everyone else around me had as much fun as I did.

Here’s what the press had to say so far:

The Hollywood Reporter: “the smart-and-hooky riffing rock of Brooklyn’s We Are Scientists carried the mid-afternoon.”

OC Weekly: “They’re fun dudes, natch, but it’s LOUD. Like, super, distort-y loud. In the words of Ralph Wiggum, “My freaking ears!”

New York Press talked to Keith who heard a rumor about a possible Smiths reunion for Coachella and Chris talked about playing at the main stage.

Yahoo! Music said they “peppered their set of short, sharp songs with witty/helpful banter about proper festival footwear and heatstroke risks.” (I don’t remember talk about heatstroke…)

The Scenestar has some incredible photos of their set.

Brooklyn Vegan has a couple of great photos too.

You can go to GettyImages.com right now and look at a couple of Coachella photos of the WAS set by searching under “We Are Scientists” under Editorial photos. OR you can go to the We Are Scientists discussion board right now where someone’s posted the photos there.

I’ve got my set on Flickr now and here’s a few of ’em…

We Are Scientists - Coachella - April 17, 2009 We Are Scientists - Coachella - April 17, 2009

We Are Scientists - Coachella - April 17, 2009 We Are Scientists - Coachella - April 17, 2009

There’s more to add to this post in the next few days so keep checking my site for updates. For anybody else that went to Coachella, link me to your photos and videos!

Videos after this cut…

Here’s a compilation of the clips I took- I didn’t take any full videos here, just little snippets of songs and etc. (the sound is crappy on this camera):

But there’s lots of good videos showing up on Youtube now…

(And I’ve fixed it now so it’s in setlist-order so you can watch it as if you were there 😀 )


Let’s See It and Impatience – recorded by Mindy


Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt – recorded by mwillie70


Chick Lit – recorded by Mindy


It’s a Hit – recorded by mwillie70


Lethal Enforcer – recorded by Mindy


After Hours – recorded by mwillie70


After Hours – recorded by OvederaEw


Cash Cow and This Scene is Dead – recorded by mwillie70


Inaction – recorded by Mindy


Tonight – recorded by mwillie70

(Hmmm…I guess I’m the only one so far who got some of Dinosaurs?)


The Great Escape – recorded by mwillie70

30 thoughts on “Coachella Roundup

  1. i liked chis’ hair 😉 (y)
    they looked good, and i assume they sounded it too, when don’t they?
    what was going on with the unicorn/horse/pony in keith’s bum pocket? ahaa 😛

    jealous! D:

  2. I noticed the missing textbook too. I hope they won’t ditch it in the future. or at least keith has to find another song to come into the audience.
    if there only was a gig to look forward too…*sobs*

  3. Indio is way too far away from Tacoma.

    *Cries a little*

    It looked like it was such an awesome show.

    But no Textbook? You’re right! That’s almost the best part. And I love Chris’s new hairstyle, the swoop is cute 🙂

  4. yeah, you took great photos, Renee. all saved now. 😀
    god, I wish I could’ve seen them like that. also I watched the videos uploaded so far and they sounded awesome. god I miss them. I could really need some WAS action myself.

  5. oh, Renee. I’m just watching your video. it’s absolutely awesome. it’s my favourite coachella video. great view. :o) and you have a bit of Dinosaurs…oh and the bass line. I’m lost for words at the moment.
    just this
    Chris….so, so incredibly handsome…and cool….*sigh*

  6. Oh sure, give Michelle credit for some of my vids, I see how you are! 😉

    Inaction went up today, but Impatience/Let’s See It crapped out again. I’ll try again tonight!

      • No silly, username is what I meant! I recorded Cash Cow and Great Escape and they are uploaded to my account. Not that it matters at all, I just wanted to give you a hard time. 🙂

        Impatience is still having technical difficulties uploading. How apropos, eh?

  7. That first one of Keith that you took – it’s my desktop right now.

    Oh how I wished they were coming to Sasquatch. But I got Kings of Leon, so I guess you can’t have everything.

Leave a Reply

