Everything You Need to Know About Barbara

Here’s an easy guide to learn what’s going on with the the third full-length album from We Are Scientists…

  • Barbara is the title of the album *
  • The album is planned to be releasedย on June 14. (hopefully worldwide).*
  • written in the “Deep South,” demoed in New York, recorded in London, Los Angeles and New York *
  • produced by Ariel Rechtshaid *

Full tracklisting :

  • Rules Don’t Stop
  • I Don’t Bite
  • Nice Guys
  • Jack & Ginger
  • Pittsburgh
  • Ambition
  • Break It Up
  • Foreign Kicks
  • You Should Learn
  • Central AC

The first single off Barbara will be: Rules Don’t Stop The b-side for Rules Don’t Stop is called “Down the Hall.” *

Rules Don’t Stop will be premiered on BBC Radio 1’s Zane Lowe show on February 24.

The single will be available for purchase on CD and vinylย on April 5. *

Jack & Ginger will be the second single and is scheduled to be released on June 7. *

The second single will be Nice Guys. *

The dolls on the cover were made by Adrian Stone.

(And that’s the news so far. I’ll keep adding to this post until the album comes out. Everything that’s not linked with * is information straight from the band.)


65 thoughts on “Everything You Need to Know About Barbara

  1. WOW so excited.I for one will be listening to Zane’s show!!!!……But “Barbara” as an album name…….may take a little getting used to.

  2. OMG. Its so nice of them to preview the new single on my mom’s birthday! I will have to let her know that the gorgeous singer she loves is giving her a birthday present ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Wow, 10 tracks already! Fingers crossed there’s more though ๐Ÿ˜€
    I’m so incredibly keen to hear the studio version of Pittsburgh.

  4. Barbara is the best name ever. I love it. and after Brain Thrust Mastery, I’m surprised it wasn’t something more random. Barbara pwns Brain Thrust Mastery as a title.

  5. Waited all evening to hear it, and now it’s being played tomorrow night instead. It shall be worth the wait (no pun intended) but feel a bit sad because really hoped it was tonight, Zane kept mentioning about it throughout the show making me excited ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sorry about that for everyone who was listening to Zane Lowe tonight on Radio 1 just now- I’m only reporting what I was told and I had no idea Zane Lowe was gonna be an asshole like that and not play it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. He honestly kept saying “we are scientists coming up” then at the end of the show he said “for everyone who thought we are scientists was tonight, it’s actually tomorrow night”
    HE BLATANTLY LIED TO US. The fact that he did that ruined my day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  8. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  9. WAS just said on their twitter that it’s out on monday.
    which means it’s out for tuesday for me, living in australia.
    woo! rum punch test!

  10. ^^^^video for rules, i mean.
    AND WAS have a new picture on myspace, and, im assuming, various other sources.

    • AHH! I need to see it! No faaiiirr.
      I’m in Australia so have no idea when anything is happening, but on twitter chris said it would be on the internet on monday and i NEED IT.

      • why would be it be on tv before the intertube? oddness. Its got lots of zooming in on heads, keith is playing a metal-looking guitar, from a distance while chris plays a black gibson bass, not his usual thunderbird but the other kind which i really dont like. Im not just trying to sound all nerdy here, I just want to show im not just bullshitting. please tell me someone else saw this and i didnt just dream it.

        • Thanks for describing the video, Jamie! I hope other UK fans are watching MTV to see it too… I’ll just have to wait till Monday and hopefully my iPhone won’t fail me and I can view it through there :/

  11. Just watched it on MTVRocks,i recorded it on my digital camera,will upload it to YouTube and post the link once its done.I loved the boxes on their heads.

  12. Recorded this on my digital camera,the quality isnt the best but its better than a kick in the nuts……Enjoy!!!

  13. Recordstore.co.uk are now taking preorders for a “very limited” Rules Don’t Stop 7-inch at ยฃ3.99 (+ P+P). They are also taking preorders for the album at ยฃ8.99.

  14. anyone have any ideas when they’re going to announce a tour or anything? i’m soo anxious to see them live. the new stuff’s sounding amazing but i can’t travel to any of these london gigs ๐Ÿ˜ฆ gutted.

  15. Pingback: Live: We Are Scientists with Drink Up Buttercup @ The 5 Spot – Nashville – March 23, 2010 « Giving Up The Gun

  16. This may have already been asked/answered but I just want to check.
    It states that Rules Donโ€™t Stop “will be available for purchase on CD and vinyl on April 5”.
    But I can only find a Vinyl or MP3, It doesn’t appear to be coming out on CD!?!
    I have pre-ordered the Vinyl and will get the mp3 too, but surely not having the single available as a Cd will decrease its chances of doing well.

    Also on a side note I’m disappointed that there hasn’t been any fun bundle packs with this single, like there has been with others (normally available on recordstore.co.uk) do you think this is due to the fact this album/single is being put out on their own record label.

    Lastly If I’m wrong about the CD or there is a bundle available somewhere please let me know, I’m happy to be wrong because I want them hehe.

    So excited to get the vinyl monday though ๐Ÿ™‚ eek.

  17. Pingback: New Music Videos: We Are Scientists and Avi Buffalo « Giving Up The Gun

Comments are closed.